Episode 2: The Five Pillars of Islam



One-on-One with Imam Shamsi Ali

In this episode, Imam Shamsi Ali will discuss the five pillars of Islam, or the five religious practices that form the foundation upon which Islam is built.  All Muslims – those who believe in the six doctrines of beliefs discussed in episode 1 –  are called to perform these religious rites as practical means to preserve and enhance their faith in the face of worldly distractions and hardship.  Namely, these five pillars are:

  1. Taking the shehada, or declaring that “There is no God but God, and that the Prophet Muhammed is the Messenger of God.”
  2. Praying the five daily prayers
  3. Giving “Zakat,” a portion (2.5%) of wealth, to charity
  4. Fasting the month of Ramadan
  5. Performing the Hajj, or the pilgrimage to Mecca at least once in a lifetime, wealth and health permitting.


Comments are closed